1,000 Faces

logoSmaller.png

Folks Cafe. That’s what I want to write about today. When I first moved to Wilmington, each day consisted of me exploring new places to work and operate. Really, it was just me on a search for the coolest coffee shop I could find. It was a fun adventure.

Then, I found it. Folks Cafe was located in the middle of what some might consider a ghetto. I still remember the first day I walked inside. I pushed the door open, and my nose was invaded by the delicious aroma of roasted coffee beans, delicious treats, and authentic Latin American food. The walls were covered with different pieces of art and so many colors. It was quite a small building, but the atmosphere contained within its walls had so much joy.

After ordering one of the best cups of coffee I’ve ever had, I sat down and began working, but still observed my surroundings. The cafe was owned by a Latin American family. The matriarch was named Mrs. Tami. As each person walked into this small cafe throughout the day, I realized she knew every single family. She recognized every single face.

But, not only did she recognize them, she genuinely cared about each person. Her family shared their lives with each of their customers. They empathized with the people who were hurting. They celebrated with the people who had experienced small victories in life.

The same group of old men would congregate each morning to discuss current events. The same artsy friends would meet to discuss their next pieces and showings. The same couple would bring their newborn baby each week to say hello. The same mother would wait for her high school daughter each day.

I found something profoundly moving about this cafe. And it became my new place.

As we get ready to launch our church in the next few weeks, I want to create that same “welcome home” atmosphere for Jesus. I want our church to be a place where people feel they belong. A place where people feel loved. I want to celebrate with the people who are winning in life, and I want to comfort the people who are having hard times.

I want to create a Folks Cafe for Jesus, and I want it to be someone’s new place. I can’t wait to see what it looks like.

artist: randy montana

 
5
Kudos
 
5
Kudos

Now read this

Love Like This

One of my favorite things to do is invest in relationships. I love to sit down and engage in growing conversations; to exchange wisdom and knowledge with another human being. It is the way I operate; I cannot imagine what the world would... Continue →