The One Moment

I remember the one moment that changed everything for me. It was my freshman year in college. I had just come out of one of the darkest times of my life–my senior year in high school. I was on the edge of falling into an even darker place, and I was desperate. I had prayed constantly for God to send me a sign; a moment. And then a stranger walked up.

I was sitting at the red tables outside the student union when the dude showed up. He introduced himself as Glenn and said he was visiting from South Africa. I thought it was strange that a guy from South Africa would visit the small town of Ruston, Louisiana, so I asked him what had brought him. And these were his exact words: “I’m starting a revolution for Jesus.”

Boom. Divine conversation. Check. I followed Glenn to some of the coolest people I have ever met, and fell in love with God in a way I had never known. That one moment changed my life. God sent Glenn across an ocean to change everything for me.

I’ve been in North Carolina for over a week now. It’s starting to feel more like home with each passing day. As I have been thinking through the church plant here, my mind has been pondering so many things: the worship, the creative side, the website, the outreach, the services, etc. So many things to accomplish and get excited about.

But, as I was praying a few mornings ago, God reminded me of the most important thing: His heart for people. He brought me back to the story of how He chose David. He sent Samuel to look for a king. Though Samuel believed he had found a worthy candidate, God reminded him how it’s better to look at the heart. David was the last person anybody expected to be chosen, but God saw his heart. God sent Samuel to see his heart.

Just like God sent Samuel to give David that one moment that would change everything and like He sent Glenn to give me my moment, God has sent me here for divine conversations and moments with the people in this city. There are broken and hurting people here God wants to revitalize and use to change the world.

I pray every day for these people. For these conversations. These moments.

And I can’t wait to experience each of them.

artist: ok go

 
40
Kudos
 
40
Kudos

Now read this

We Can

These past two years, I have experienced some of the toughest moments of my life. Honestly, I have felt like my dreams were ripped away from me and everything I believed in and planned for was never meant to be. My passions and desires... Continue →