You Were Born

DSC_0111.jpg

My sister recently got engaged to a pretty incredible dude. I wish I could share the joy and happiness she had in her eyes and smile. Pictures cannot even do it justice. I could tell it was going to be one of her favorite days.

As I observed my sister on her favorite day, God revealed something brilliant to me about her character: she has and will always be an overcomer. You see, my sister cares more deeply about her people and her passions than anyone I have ever met. My knowledge of the heart and empathy doesn’t come close to the deep understanding she possesses. But, with that deep understanding comes a large amount of heartbreak.

Growing up, Sister had some of the best friends ever. Fun was had. Good memories were made. But, as she entered her teenage years, those friends began to turn their backs on her. She experienced betrayal and gossip, which she refused to be a part of. She knew loneliness intimately at a young age.

Sister was diagnosed with dyslexia and ADD from a young age as well. She was made fun of, and had to work 5 times as hard to succeed like everyone else. Not because she was less intelligent, but because the system didn’t understand the way her incredible mind operated.

My sister is the most beautiful girl in the world. Boys noticed that way too often. But, they would overlook her open and loving heart. She was trampled on. And treated poorly. Simply because she loved so intensely.

Sister was one of the most athletic girls I have ever known. And I’m not just exaggerating because she’s related to me. I really do believe that. Throughout her high school career, she tore both of her ACLs while playing basketball. But, in the midst of all the grueling surgeries and physical therapy, she never gave up being her best. And she could still out play the best of them today.

To look at my sister today, you would never imagine she had been through all of this. She has countless friends that she invests love and time into - lives she is changing. She graduates college in May and wants to be a counselor. Her scars do not define her; they move her towards wholeness each day.

Her smile that day signified one more step in His brilliant plan.

This I know is true: my sister was born to overcome and change this world.

And I’m proud of her.

artist: cloud cult

 
12
Kudos
 
12
Kudos

Now read this

We Can

These past two years, I have experienced some of the toughest moments of my life. Honestly, I have felt like my dreams were ripped away from me and everything I believed in and planned for was never meant to be. My passions and desires... Continue →