Last Summer

IMG_0035.jpg

This is Ndumiso. I met him exactly a year ago today. I wanted to share that story again:

I stepped out of the van, turned my head towards the hillside, and smiled as I saw children running in every direction. Some were swinging. Some were standing in line for food. Some were bobbing up and down on the see-saw. Others were playing soccer and rugby. This was going to be a good day hanging out with kids and helping out at the CarePoint.

The facilitators just asked us to hang out with the children, with which I was completely okay. We took funny pictures and made fun of each other’s names. They really enjoyed the way I could hardly pronounce their names; lots of laughs at my expense. We played keep away with the rugby ball, which basically involved me chasing the kid who happened to have the ball at any given moment. We exerted a lot of energy together. And we smiled a lot. I call that a good day.

I met one kid I will never forget. His name was Ndumiso. It’s rare to find children who will have deep conversation with someone they have just met. And will probably never see again. But, my conversation with Ndumiso challenged my ways of thinking. Changed my view of the world. And taught me a lesson.

Ndumiso is 13 years old. He has this influence within him that is rare for his age. It’s a humble influence. The other kids listen to him. Respect him. But, he doesn’t demand it. He is a gentle and humble leader. The kind of leader people want to follow.

As we began to talk, he began to open up more than I ever expected. He told me about his parents. His dad left his mom when he was very young. So, he’s never known a father. His mom passed away in 2010. You could tell there was deep hurt in his heart as he spoke about it, but he didn’t dwell on his pain. He recognized he was an orphan, but he was pushing through. And living life the best he could. He told me he lives with his sisters and cousins now. Without me even asking, he asked me to pray he could find some shoes. He had to walk everywhere, and school seemed to be a pretty far distance. All without shoes. Barefoot. In Africa.

I prayed for him. We talked a little more about funny stuff. We played with the other kids. And as we were leaving, I gave him the biggest hug. When we were gone, I missed him. I wanted more time with him.

Ndumiso taught me so much that day. He taught me about leadership and influence. He taught me about finding joy in the hardest of situations. He taught me about openness and vulnerability. The way he asked me to pray for him showed that he trusted Jesus so much. He knew Him. And wanted to share his life with others who knew Him too.

God moved me to buy Ndumiso some shoes. I got him some really nice tennis shoes, some super cool flip-flops, and a nice pair of shoes for school. And I made sure he received them, and knew how much he was loved. I saw more of Jesus in this young man who has been dealt some of the hardest times than I often see in myself. I want to have the joy he has in my toughest times. I want to lead the people around me the way he does. I want to grow people through my brokenness the way he grew me through his.

Ndumiso has potential within him to change people. To demonstrate God’s love throughout the world.

And I truly believe he will.

I get to see Ndumiso again on a trip I am taking in August. I’m excited to see how much he has grown. I’m excited to hear the new stories of his life. I’m excited to learn more brilliant life lessons from him.

It’s going to be a good trip :)

artist: david gray

 
6
Kudos
 
6
Kudos

Now read this

Young Again

This past year, I started volunteering as a tutor at an after-school program. It’s been one of the most challenging, fun, and unique journeys I’ve ever taken. Sometimes these kids make me the most frustrated I’ve ever been. They hardly... Continue →