Love Like This

hpsm_0002s_0000s_0025_Layer 41.jpg
One of my favorite things to do is invest in relationships. I love to sit down and engage in growing conversations; to exchange wisdom and knowledge with another human being. It is the way I operate; I cannot imagine what the world would be like without words.

In the midst of these brilliant investments, my heart becomes connected with other people. Friendships develop. Fun is had. Memories are made. And it gets to a point when I cannot remember what life was like before I knew these incredible people.

This is where it gets hard.

With new seasons, come heart-wrenching goodbyes. This is my least favorite part about investing in relationship. I completely believe these next steps will lead me to new heights and different places of growth. But, the relationships with which my life has become intertwined now have to be replaced with new investments and connections. And it hurts.

Don’t get me wrong, the idea of meeting new people and growing in new ways is exciting. But, the leaving part is the hardest. When I get to heaven, I hope I am able to introduce all of the truly great friends I have made over the past 24 years to each other. I look forward to goodbyes never existing, and being able to hang out with friends no matter how far away they are.

When I arrive at the end of a season like I am now, I begin to wonder how Jesus must have felt as His time to save the world drew closer. He mentioned to His disciples early on how He would have to be crucified. I wonder what their dinners were like after that moment. I wonder if they engaged in each conversation as if it were their last. I wonder what His goodbyes were like.

I’m sure they were the best.

I know the love I have encountered in Baton Rouge will follow me to North Carolina. I will continue to invest from afar.

I also know that a love like this exists everywhere I go. And I can’t wait to find it in this new place.

artist: kodaline

 
16
Kudos
 
16
Kudos

Now read this

1,000 Faces

Folks Cafe. That’s what I want to write about today. When I first moved to Wilmington, each day consisted of me exploring new places to work and operate. Really, it was just me on a search for the coolest coffee shop I could find. It was... Continue →