Sometimes There’s God

IMG_1678.JPG

One of my new hobbies since moving to North Carolina is running. This is a strange hobby for me, because I’ve consistently despised running in the past. I didn’t understand the point of running without a purpose; without a game or competition. It was one of my least favorite things to do.

Running is different here. The air is crisper. The scenery is more vivid. It just makes sense to run around and explore it all. One of my favorite and most beautiful places to run is Downtown Wilmington. Antique buildings, brick roads, unique shops and cafe’s - it’s an eclectic area. And it has one of the coolest river walks ever. If you run at just the right time, you can watch the sun setting behind the town bridge. It’s truly a special place.

Probably one of the coolest reasons I continue loving this hobby are the people God leads me to as I run downtown. Once I met a dude named Colton whose girlfriend had just entered rehab. He was broken and struggled with addictions himself. Another guy named Wolfgang (most interesting name yet) was in deep pain from a cross-country relationship that wasn’t working out. Both of these guys were in tears, and just needed someone to listen.

I think when people hurt, they are drawn to beauty. That’s why I meet so many broken people when I run around these incredible places. Where beauty exists, God exists. And where God exists, maybe some kind of answer or solution will appear. I think each of these guys believed that sometimes there’s God.

I prayed with each of them. I told them I loved them, and that even more, an incredible God loved them more than they could know. In each of these divine connections, Jesus used me to be the sometimes there’s God moment. I’m so humbled by that.

I pray they continue to be drawn to the beauty God creates around them.

And that their sometimes there’s God moments turn into an eternal relationships.

artist: john mellencamp

 
7
Kudos
 
7
Kudos

Now read this

Back Home

One of the most agonizing and painful things for me is having to watch people I care about go through tough times. I hate not being able to fix a problem or provide an answer, or simply comfort someone going through pain. It’s just no... Continue →