The Great Unknown

Have you ever experienced a moment in life when you could feel the tides turning? When you could sense yourself approaching the precipice of a cliff, inches from falling into something you’ve never known before?

I’ve only ever experienced moments like this a few times: when I decided follow Jesus, when I walked across the stage to receive my college diploma, when I experienced the agony and grief of death for the first time, when I first fell in love. These are times when you realize things will never be the same.

A new season is upon me and I have no idea what to expect. I sense the precipice ahead. I’m gearing up to move my life across the country to Wilmington, North Carolina, to help plant a church. Of course, I am sad to be leaving my family and friends for a while. They have made me who I am. God has used them to shape my soul.

But, you know, jumping off of a cliff might be scary, but it can also be one of the most exciting and exhilarating things you ever do. I choose to look at this as a new adventure; an unknown greatness of brilliant new relationships, good conversations, and heights of growth I never knew existed.

God does not call us to live safe and comfortable lives. I never want to live that way. He calls us to live dangerously. He call us to live vulnerably. I tend to doubt the things God speaks to me and the decisions I make. But, I have come to believe if we take big risks towards changing the world for Him, if our hearts are truly devoted to advancing His kingdom, His plan will manifest itself in our lives no matter where we end up.

There is a great unknown waiting for me. And I intend on discovering it.

artist: jukebox the ghost

 
11
Kudos
 
11
Kudos

Now read this

1,000 Faces

Folks Cafe. That’s what I want to write about today. When I first moved to Wilmington, each day consisted of me exploring new places to work and operate. Really, it was just me on a search for the coolest coffee shop I could find. It was... Continue →